P.185 Batu Sapi facts and figures

Following are the facts and figures of P.185 Batu Sapi parliamentary by-election:


  • Ansari Andullah, 56 (PKR)
  • Datuk Yong Teck Lee, 51 (SAPP)
  • Datin Linda Tsen Thau Lin, 54 (BN)

Nomination day: Oct 26, 2010
Polling: Nov 4, 2010
Total number of voters: 25,582 comprising 24,047 ordinary and 1,535 postal voters (601 voters at Sandakan Naval Base, 271 at IPD Sandakan and 663 at PGA

Demographic profile: 13,835 (54.08 per cent) male voters and 11,747 (45.92 per cent) female voters
Ethnic composition: Muslim Bumiputra (59.02 per cent or 15,099) Chinese (38.06 per ent or 9,737), non-Muslim Bumiputra (2.69 per cent or 689) and Indian
(0.22 per cent or 57 voters).

Nomination and vote-tallying centres: Sandakan Community Hall

Polling centres: 12 centres in 11 schools and a regional library, with a total of 45 polling streams

All 12 polling station open from 8am to 5pm, except SK Sigulud (closes at 4pm) and SK Pulau Timbang (closes at 3pm)

Returning officer: Hamsan Awang Supaian, Sandakan Municipal Council Secretary
Election workers: 405 staff
Size of the constituency : 560.9 sq km

March 2008 general election result: Datuk Edmund Chong (BN) polled 9,479 votes as against Dr Chung Kong Wing (Independent) 5,771 votes. Chong won with a
3,708-vote majority.

The by-election is called following the death of Chong on Oct 9 in a motorbike accident.

Leave a Reply