Heartiest congratulations to Cr. Kijan Toynbee

Cr. Kijan Toynbee (second left) with members from Wanita SPDP Piasau Division.

Four new political secretaries sworn in

by Johnson K Saai
Borneo Post, July 29, 2010, Thursday

KUCHING:  Four new political secretaries to the Chief Minister were sworn in yesterday, bringing the total to 23.

They were from Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP), Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party (SPDP) and Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS).

Taking their oath of office before Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Alfred Jabu Numpang at Wisma Bapa Malaysia here were Kijan Toynbee @ Ipang (SPDP), Angeline Umih Tujoh (PRS), Sih Hua Tong (SUPP) and Tengku Gruna (PBB).

The first to take the oath was 54-year-old Kijan, a Kelabit from Bario. She has served the Miri City Council (MCC) for 15 years, and at the party level Kijan is SPDP Central’s Wanita vice-chairman.

She is also SPDP Piasau’s Women chief and the Federation of the Orang Ulu National Association (OUNA) Women chief.

Angeline is a Supreme Council member in PRS, while Sih, 46, is SUPP Youth Chief. Tengku, 50, is the auditor for PBB Song division.

Except for Sih, who was appointed to replace Ding Kuong Sing, the MP for Sarikei, the rest were new appointments.

Commenting on the appointment of the new political secretaries, Chief Political Secretary to the Chief Minister Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah said: “I am happy with the four new appointments, which now increase the number of political secretaries to the Chief Minister to 23.

“I wish to congratulate them on their appointment. I’ve full confidence that, with their vast experience in their respective careers, they will be able to help BN and the government in maintaining political stability in the state,” he said.

Leave a Reply